A Journey in Teaching
I've been told I need a filter…

Already in Training

I made it to New Mexico safely last night. Thanks for praying everyone.

I had to take 3 flights and the second one was delayed to the point that I was postive I was going to miss my connection to Albuquerque. When we landed though I learned my flight was waiting for me and some other connections. So I got off the plane and ran through the terminal. I made it. The trade-off was when I got on the plane I was sweating profusely. I make my way to my seat and as I try to compose myself and relax I overhear the lady next to me talking to the other guy in our row. To my astonishment I hear that this lady has run 50 marathons in all 50 states and upwards of 70 total. I’m a runner but that just made me say good lord. Now generally I am loathe to start small talk on planes. I’m not very social with random people and assume they would just as much not talk. But I had to say something. I tell her I ran my frst two marathons ever this year and we start having a very nice conversation about running and marathons. And then she asks the dreaded question.

“So what do you do for a living?”

I almost always balk, hestitate, shy away from this question. Mostly because frankly, it’s complicated. Do I say missionary? teacher? guy who travels places and believes in Jesus? former esteemed mini-mart clerk? It’s just not very normal and takes a lot of effort and so I dislike it. But this seemed like a pretty nice lady and I’m not prne to lying so I revealed I was going to Czech Republic to teach for a year. Soon it came out I had been in South Africa doing missions work. I explained why I chose the Czech Republic (their are a lot of atheists there). She seemed more interested in what sight-seeing I had done in Africa, however, and soon we were back to  discussing running.

I realized almost as soon as I was done talking with her that even though I still have over a week till training starts, this was my first practice. I NEVER talk to people on planes and yet here I was with the opportunity to lay out who I was and what I believed to this lady. I didn’t ace it. I wasn’t very enthusiastic or clear and I was actually the one who ended up changing the subject. But it was still important. The Bible says we should always have an answer for the hope that is in us (1 Peter 3:15). People are going to ask here and in the Czech what I am doing. I can cop out and say I’m teaching or just exploring Europe or I can say what is in fact true. I’m going overseas to build relationships with young people who have no awareness of the supernatural world and share the love of Christ with them.

Without a doubt. I’m already in training.

2 Responses to “Already in Training”

  1. Very cool, Matt. I hope you don’t mind that I’ve been reading your blog, but this is really encouraging! God is working in your life now for something really great ahead. Also, I just ran my own first two marathons in the last two years, too. 🙂

    • Haha I don’t mind at all. The more people who read and comment the better. My blog is for my supporters but also anyone who happens to come across it. How are you involved with TeachOverseas? What country have you taught in or going to teach in?


Leave a Reply

