A Journey in Teaching
I've been told I need a filter…

Some Thanksgiving thoughts…

As some of you might know I’m in the habit of rambling about something spiritual on major holidays. So I thought it would be nice to write a few words.

This is my first Thanksgiving where on the actual day of the holiday I have done nothing. Last year in South Africa, we had a big meal as a group of Americans (and South Africans), so even though I wasn’t with my family, I celebrated. This year I woke up at my normal hour of 6:30AM, taught 3 classes, ate lunch, took a nap, went running, had pancakes and leftover chili for dinner and went to a normal Thursday night church service in town. And so I sit, not an ounce of turkey in my stomach, thousands of miles from the nearest family member.

I’m really not playing the sympathy card here. I am profoundly blessed. When you live your life you often fail to see the things that others might find extraordinary. I lived for nearly a year in South Africa. It was awesome and cool and all of that but now it’s over and here I am in the Czech Republic. No big deal right? But then I tell someone what I have been up to since college and people generally freak out. “That’s awesome!” “That’s so cool!” “I wish I was doing something like that!”

And then I take a step back and think to myself “Oh crap. I think I need to have a bit more gratitude”

My life is not always easy but it is incredible and I have no one I can thank more than God. He has brought me places I never would have thought. He has worked on my mind and my heart with the precision of a fine craftsman and I am so much the better for it. There is still much I have to do and that I want to accomplish. But today on this national day of thanks (at least in America) it is probably best to pause and simply thank God for everything that he has done, been doing, and will do in my life. If I could be so bold to offer you, the reader, some advice it is this: Perhaps it would be good for you to do the same?

Full Disclosure: I have already enjoyed one giant Thanksgiving meal in Prague two weeks ago and will soon enjoy a second with other American teachers on Saturday. I’m hardly suffering.

2 Responses to “Some Thanksgiving thoughts…”

  1. i’m glad you’re celebrating Thanskgiving today…

  2. aww this was goood; real GOOD

    i like friend.


Leave a Reply

