A Journey in Teaching
I've been told I need a filter…

So about this teaching stuff…

Given the title of my blog I realize it might be a good idea to write a bit about my epic “Journey in Teaching” on occasion. So here’s a super exciting update.

I started graduate school a few weeks ago. For teaching. This amount of information is evidently never enough for people so I’m forced to add, “I’m getting my Masters in Teaching High School History.” Sounds pretentious doesn’t it? For the record, I wouldn’t mind teaching Geography or African Studies either if the opportunity presented itself.

If your interested, I’m going to Lesley University in Cambridge, which is actually a really good school for education. Overall I’m enjoying my classes so far but one thing has become readily apparent to me in the first couple weeks. People talk about education all the time and everybody apparently has the secret “to fixing our schools.” In reality there is very little consensus about what actually works. And the things most decent educators have figured out that does work is typically not what is going on in  the classrooms of our precious youth. A little disconcerting to say the least.

I can come off as somewhat negative at times but in actuality I’m often more positive than people give me credit for. Being a Christian, surprisingly enough lends itself to this. Let me end on a positive note. Tonight in class and a couple times in the last week I have realized (not for the first time) that I really want to teach. I want to be a teacher. I want to be in the classroom with students doing my thing. Going over concepts and teaching thinking skills. Not a simple or easy or even glamorous job but it’s what I want to do and I think that is pretty sweet.

2 Responses to “So about this teaching stuff…”

  1. I’m really really glad you found what you want to do. I think you’ll be a great teacher.. you’ve certainly got enough knowledge crammed in that head of yours. here’s an idea.. teach history and coach the cross country team. two birds with one stone, hm?

  2. haha as if that hasn’t been my plan the whole time. You know where my head is at friend! Good stuff!


Leave a Reply

